Sonata for Clarinet and Piano, score and part

Commissioned by David Shea, the Clarinet Sonata received a brilliant premiere performance by David and Regina in the summer of 2008 at the International Clarinet Association’s Annual Conference in Kansas City.

The work is in three movements.  The first movement, a Fantasia, is filled with melodic arpeggiated piano figures and integrated clarinet melodies and flourishes.  The first part is an a-a-b-a form with the clarinet opening in its colorful chalumeau register. A rhapsodic middle section follows before returning to the original opening material, now in the higher clarino register of the clarinet.  The second movement opens with a cadenza-like introduction on the piano and moves into a lyrical movement with some fiery dramatic interludes.  There are clear passages for both piano to solo and for the clarinet to perform espressivo cantabile melodies.  The last movement is a short prestissimo finale highlighted with dramatic ositnato sections.

Sonata for Clarinet and Piano, score and part
Click To Enlarge
  • Item #: CSM57018
  * Marked fields are required.
Price $25.00

Related Items